
 
501-8.1(3) MANDATORY IN-SERVICE TRAINING 

12 HOURS PER YEAR OR 36 HOURS EVERY 3 YEARS  
 

*May not be included as a portion of the 12 hours of Mandatory In-Service Training  
**Recommended, not required   
 
7-16-20/lrb   

TOPIC IOWA CODE SECTION(S) REQUIRED HOURS FREQUENCY 
Blood Borne Pathogens  OSHA Standard 

1910.1030(q)(2)(ii) 
  Annually 

 
Hazard Communications  OSHA Standard 1910.1200(h)  Annually 
Mental Health  501-8.1(4)(80B)(b) 1 hour or 4 hours, refer to 

Code section 
Annually 

Firearms Qualification*  501-8.1(1)(80B)  Annually 
NCIC Certification  FBI  Every 2 years 
Iowa Law Enforcement 
Emergency Care Provider ** 

501-3.5(4)(g) 4 Topics + CPR Every 2 years 

Mandatory Reporting: 
Child Abuse and Dependent 
Adult Abuse  

Iowa Code Section 232.69(3b) 
and Section 235B.16(5e) 

4 Hours Every 3 years 

Hazardous Materials OSHA Standard 
1910.120(q)(8) 

 Every 3 years 

CPR/AED/Airway Obstruction 
All Ages*  

501-8.1(2)(80B)  Upon Expiration 

    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    

 


