OPEN SESSION AGENDA IOWA LAW ENFORCEMENT ACADEMY COUNCIL MEETING October 3, 2024 9:00am ILEA Building, Room 201 7105 NW 70th Avenue 4640 Burma Road Johnston, IA 50131

Join Zoom Meeting

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/88460781068?pwd=VzNvUWxVaWhHaTNsRkxyS3NQZEcxUT09

Meeting ID: 884 6078 1068 Passcode: October24

Please note: Proceedings are being recorded.-Council members are reminded they are to abstain from participating in, and /or voting on any action items involving a potential conflict of interest.

Welcome/Pledge of Allegiance/Introductions Matt Wood (New ILEA Instructor)

- 1. Disclosure of Potential Conflicts of Interest on the Open Session Agenda
- 2. Public Comment (Comments will be no more than three minutes)
- 3. Action Item: Approval of the August 1, 2024 Open Session Council Minutes
- 4. Action Item: Approval of the Consent Agenda as presented.

5. <u>Action Item</u>: Petition for Waiver of Iowa Administrative Code Rule 501-2.1(5) for Christopher Boeset on behalf of the Nevada Police Department.

- 6. Action Item: Petition for Waiver of Iowa Administrative Code Rule 501-2.1(5) for Jace Marshall.
- 7. Action Item: Reinstatement Discussion for Glenn Beenblossom.
- 8. Action Item: Reinstatement Discussion for Tim Pederson.
- 9. Action Item: Reinstatement Discussion for Blake Jones.

(The Council may go into closed session when necessary under Iowa Code section 21.5(1).)

Iowa Law Enforcement Academy Council Meeting – Agenda continued October 3, 2024 Page 2

> Please note: Proceedings are being recorded. Council members are reminded they are to abstain from participating in, and /or voting on

any action items involving a potential conflict of interest.

10. Action Item: Review of the Screening Committee Consent Agenda

Waivers:	Blake Smolinski	Wyatt Spieker	Collin Conger
	Steve Maurer	Ben Oleson	

CTE: Michael Barger Kolton Johnson Ben Oleson

- 11. ILEA Reports
 - a) Director's Report
 - b) Basic Academy Update
 - c) Regional Academy Update
 - d) POST Discussion
- 12. Action Item: Move into Closed Session
- 13. Action Item: Vote on Items Discussed in Closed Session
 - a) Approval of the August 1, 2024 Closed Session Council Minutes
 - b) Proposed Decision/Review of State and Respondent Briefs 23-010
 - c) Administratively Closed Files 24-034 24-038 24-047 24-048
 - d) Voluntary Surrender Files
 24-007
 24-035
 - 24.036
 - 24-043 (Instructor Certification Surrender)
 - e) Settlement Agreement Files
 - 22-038 22-044 23-008 23-013 23-025 24-001 24-030

(The Council may go into closed session when necessary under Iowa Code section 21.5(1).

Iowa Law Enforcement Academy Council Meeting – Agenda continued October 3, 2024 Page 3

- f) Decertification Files 24-005 24-025 24-031 24-032
- 14. Action Item: Petition for Waiver of Iowa Administrative Code Rule 501-2.1(5) for Kevin Hernandez.
- 15. Action Item: Director's Agreement (MFPRSI)

16. Action Item: FY2025 Fee Schedule Update

- 17. Action Item: Election of Chair and Vice Chair of Academy Council
- 18. Future Agenda Items
- 19. Future Council Meetings
 - a) December 5, 2024 at 9:00am Iowa Law Enforcement Academy-Camp Dodge
- 20. Action Item: Adjournment

(The Council may go into closed session when necessary under Iowa Code section 21.5(1).

Iowa Law Enforcement Academy Council Meeting – Agenda continued October 3, 2024 Page 4

CONSENT AGENDA

<u>Academy Instructor Applications (3)</u> Shannon Hedges Andrew Hobart Kristi Traynor (LEO; Reserve; Jailers and Telecommunicators-Subject Matter Expert)

2. <u>Reserve Officer Weapons Applications (3)</u>

Rebecca Brown Paul Peska Jason Paskvan

3. Jail Instructor Applications (1)

Robert Draughn

4. Telecommunicator Instructor Applications (6)

Dean Pollpeter	Brian Albright
Nichole Coffman	Shannon Hedges
Ashley Hochberger	Andrew Hobart

5. Salvage Vehicle Theft Examiners (12)

Brian Meyer-Wilton PD Alexis Goddard-Wilton PD Darryl Tucker-University Heights PD Jacob Walker-Muscatine Co SO George Horner-Sergeant Bluff PD Brandon Doiel-Harrison Co SO

6. <u>Residency Ordinances (1)</u>

Michael Barger-Clinton PD

Nick Dunbar-Webster Co SO Matt Blaess- Chickasaw Co SO Jordan Gansen-Chickasaw Co SO Braxton Rash-Chickasaw Co SO Richard Tasler-Madrid PD Josh Kobes-Wapello Co SO

0